#BlogTour The Dream Home – T.M. Logan

IT WAS EVERYTHING THEY WANTED. AND MORE THAN THEY BARGAINED FOR . . .

Adam and Jess move into a new housewith their three young children: a rambling Victorian villa in a nice neighbourhood right at the very top of their price range. Before long Adam discovers a door hidden behind a fitted wardrobe, concealing a secret room . . .

Inside Adam discovers a collection of forgotten items: a wallet, an expensive watch and an old mobile phone. Jess thinks they should simply throw them away. But Adam resists. He is fascinated by these items and how they came to be inside the hidden room.

But like the house, Adam has his secrets too. And soon he will find himself setting in motion a series of events that will place his family in terrible danger . . .

I am a big fan of TM Logan’s work, I have read all his books and I think The Dream Home is making a strong case to take the number one spot as my new favourite. This is a book that both engrossed me and made me want to keep reading, whilst simultaneously creeping me out and making me want to read from behind my fingers! Entertainingly, as I was reading I was on holiday with family in a big old villa style house which I could quite easily imagine hiding some of the features we read about in the story. This definitely made all the little creaks and odd noises feel just that little bit more spooky!

I don’t know if it comes to us all with age or not, but I love having a good look at houses and spend much more time than I should, given my absolute lack of funds to follow through with, pondering the ways in which we could update and refresh our house. My poor husband smiles and nods and thanks his lucky stars that it’s all wishing with no substance currently, ha! With that in mind, The Dream Home is a delightfully appealing read right from the beginning. Even better than getting a fantastic new family home to make your own, getting one with a secret room is the dream! Think of the extra book storage space! And the little peaceful book nook that could be created.

Of course nothing is straightforward and the hidden room brings no joy and a lot of heartache. Very quickly dreams are turned to nightmares, and it becomes a puzzle which could shatter the family if Adam won’t take the hint and leave it alone. There are many layers and lots of suspicious characters who might be perfectly innocent but might also be hiding something important. I really couldn’t decide on what I thought was happening and I’m delighted with the path chosen – I won’t say more on that particular note and I fear I might clumsily give away a key plot point!

If you aren’t familiar with TM Logan’s work then this would be a great introduction. He writes page turners which move with pace and send you off on many different paths forcing your brain to puzzle and puzzle and try and suss out what’s going on, then what’s really going on. I think he’s a must for thriller fans

Published by Intensive Gassing About Books @AboutGassing

Anaesthetist and Intensive Care doctor with a passion for reading in my spare time!

Leave a comment